About

Christoph Stöber Stephanie Van Backlé Niklas Seidl Daniel Agi Heather Roche Jens Ruland

StefanieVanBackléStephanie van Backlé
Violin
Stefanie plays with the Brussels Philharmonic, travels frequently for chamber and contemporary music performances, is starting a new project M{usic}LAB and is a member of hand werk. She has soloed with orchestras including L’orchestre de la musique de chamber de Wallonie, BES Kamerorkest, Oost-Vlaams Symfonieorkest, the student orchestra of the Hogeschool voor Kunsten of Utrecht and the Orchestre Symphonique de Tournai. Stefanie has won several prices in national and international competitions, presenting herself as a violinist, as well as a pianist and a chamber musician.

ChristophStöberChristoph Stöber
Keys
went to pre-college from 2007-2010 and studied piano from 2010-2015 with Prof. Pavel Gililov at the “Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln”. First prizes in competitions in Italy and Germany. Special-prize from the Irino Foundation for te best interpretation of a contemporary work. Since 2009 he is a member of the “Stuido MusikFabrik” and he is a founding member of hand werk. Ater winning some composition-competitons (Landeswettbewerb Jugend Komponiert 2003 and Bundeswettbewerb Komposition 2006) he got a commision by the MusikTriennale Köln. Performances and Broadcasts of his work in the Kölner Philharmonie and the WDR.

NiklasSeidlNiklas Seidl
Cello
Is a founding member of hand werk and leise dröhnung. He plays with the ensemble mosaik, ensemble chromoson and ensemble aisthesis.
He played with the Klangforum Wien, ensemble ascolta, musikFabrik, ensemble SMASH, Thürmchen Ensemble, Stuttgarter Vocalsolisten, ensemble SurPlus, HR broadcast symphony orchestra, the Lucerne Festival Academy Orchestra etc.
As a composer active at Wien Modern, Lucerne Festival, Deutschlandfunk, WDR, Schloss Solitude and performed by exaudi London, SurPlus, Schlagquartett Köln, IEMA Franfurt, musikFabrik etc.
Prizes/Grants: Bernd-Alois-Zimmermann-Preis Cologne 2012, Staubach Honoraria Darmstadt 2012, Ensemblia-Competiton Mönchengladbach 2013, Schreyahn 2014 and Kunststiftung NRW 2015.
www.niklas-seidl.eu

HeatherRocheHeather Roche
Clarinet
was born in 1983 in Canada, studied in England and lives in Cologne. She has performed at some of the most important European festivals, including musikfest, Bachfest, Musica Nova, HCMF, Acht Brücken, CTM, Music Biennale Zagreb, und Agora. She’s also played solo concerts with and without live electronics in Montreal, Berlin, Boston, London, Copenhagen, Birmingham, New York, Vancouver, etc. She holds a PhD from the University of Huddersfield.

DanielAgiDaniel Agi
Flute
Fascinated by the endless abundance of aesthetics and challenges, the focus of Daniel’s work lies in the field of contemporary music. This led him, to several concerts in major festivals such as Acht Brücken – Musik für Köln, Zagreb Biennale and Wittener Tagen für Neue Kammermusik.
He studied flute in the conservatories of Cologne and Freiburg with Hans Martin Mueller and Prof. Robert Aitken. In 2006/2007, he was member of the International Ensemble Modern Academy, where he received his master’s degree in the performing of contemporary music.
Dedicated to both, the contemporary as well as the classical repertoire he is seen as guest musician with, among others, the Düsseldorf Philharmonic Orchestra and Ensemble musikFabrik as well as with his various chamber music groups. Apart from playing with hand werk, Daniel is a member of Hannover based Das Neue Ensemble.
As a lecturer, he has given workshops at Harvard University, Folkwang University Essen, Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music Singapur and others.
www.daniel-agi.de

JensRulandJens Ruland
Percussion
(b. 1988) obtained two diplomas in cologne between 2007 and 2012 with Carlos Tarcha. Since then he is living in Switzerland and continues his studies with Prof. Christian Dierstein at the HSM Basel. Specialized in contemporary music he has a wide solo repertory and as an ensemble player he is working with groups like musikFabrik, ensemble recherche, Klangforum Wien or ensemble proton. He is fixed and founding member with hand werk (cologne), New4Art (Switzerland), 232percussion (cologne) and Akt-tkA (Spain-Switzerland).

hand werk [`hand vɛrk]

Founded in 2011, the Cologne-based chamber music ensemble defends the values of sustainability and recycling throughout the music world. From the paper mountain of existing works, we salvage the finest materials for refining and reimagining. Using the Pierrot lineup, we not only pursue classically composed works for our own instruments, but add to our repertoire works for unconventional instruments, for example, common items (tables, balloons, etc.), voices, and electronic sound sources. hand werk focuses on unconducted chamber music, in order to not only present music to the public that is technically, but also musically enthralling. hand werk has been seen at festivals including the Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik, Acht Brücken Köln, the Zagreb Biennale, the Darmstädter Ferienkurse für Neue Musik, at a residency at Harvard University, on tour in Lebanon and as participants in various concert series in numerous European cities. In addition to this hand werk regularly performs their very own productions.

hand werk is sponsored by

res_kultur_rgb

About

Christoph Stöber Stephanie Van Backlé Niklas Seidl Daniel Agi Heather Roche Jens Ruland

StefanieVanBackléStefanie Van Backlé
Violine
Stefanie spielt regelmäßig bei „Brussels Philharmonic“, ist Mitglied bei „hand werk“ und gründete das Projekt M{usic}LAB. Außerdem trat sie solistisch mit zahlreichen Orchestern auf, wie L’orchestre de la musique de chamber de Wallonie, BES Kamerorkest, Oost-Vlaams Symfonieorkest, Orchestre Symphonique de Tournai, sowie dem Orchester der Hogeschool voor Kunsten Utrecht. Stefanie ist Preisträgerin zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler Wettbewerbe, bei denen sie sowohl als Geigerin als auch als Pianistin in Erscheinung trat.

ChristophStöberChristoph Stöber
Tasten
studierte von 2007 bis 2010 als Jungstudent bei Andreas Frölich, 2010-2015 bei Prof. Pavel Gililov an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz in Köln. Erste Preise bei Wettbewerben in Italien und Deutschland. Sonderpreis der Irino Foundation für die beste Interpretation eines zeitgenössischen Werkes. Seit 2009 ist er Mitglied des „Studio MusikFabrik“. Nach Erfolgen bei Kompositionswettbewerben (Landeswettbewerb Jugend komponiert (2003) und Bundeswettbewerb Komposition (2006)) erhielt er 2006 einen Kompositionsauftrag der MusikTriennale Köln. Aufführungen und Sendung des Werks in der Kölner Philharmonie und im WDR. Er ist Gründungsmitglied von hand werk.

NiklasSeidlNiklas Seidl
Cello
ist Gründungsmitglied von hand werk und leise dröhung und spielt zudem im ensemble mosaik, ensemble chromoson und dem ensemble aisthesis.
Gastauftritte beim Klangforum Wien, musikFabrik, Stuttgarter Vocalsolisten, Ensemble ascolta, ensemble SurPlus, Thürmchen Ensemble, mam, ensemble SMASH, dem HR-Symphonieorchester u.a.
Als Komponist tätig u.a. bei Wien Modern, Acht Brücken, Lucerne Festival, Schloss Solitude, Deutschlandfunk, Festival Zukunftsmusik, sowie mit den Ensembles SurPlus, Thürmchen, IEMA, Garage, Schlagquartett Köln, exaudi London, Oh-Ton, MAM und der musikFabrik. Preise/Stipendien: Bernd-Alois-Zimmermann-Stipendium 2012, Staubach-Honoraria Darmstadt, 1. Preis beim Ensemblia-Wettbewerb Mönchengladbach, Schreyahn, Kunststiftung NRW in Istanbul.
www.niklas-seidl.eu

HeatherRocheHeather Roche
Klarinette
wurde in 1983 in Kanada geboren, hat in England studiert und lebt heute in Köln. Sie hat bei einigen der wichtigsten europäischen Festivals konzertiert, darunter musikfest, Bachfest, Musica Nova, HCMF, Acht Brücken, CTM, Music Biennale Zagreb, und Agora. Sie spielte auch Solokonzerte mit oder ohne Live-elektronik in Montreal, Berlin, Boston, London, Kopenhagen, Birmingham, New York, Vancouver, usw. Sie hat ihre Doktorarbeit an der University von Huddersfield geschrieben.

DanielAgiDaniel Agi
Flöte
Die Faszination für die schier unerschöpfliche Fülle an Spielformen und Ästhetiken sowie die immer neuen Herausforderungen begründen seine Leidenschaft für Neue Musik.
Sein Studium absolvierte Daniel Agi bei Hans-Martin Müller und Robert Aitken in Köln und Freiburg und erwarb an der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie einen Master.
Er ist als Solist, Kammer- und Orchestermusiker auch im klassischen Repertoire zuhause und bei den Duisburger und Düsseldorfer Philharmonikern und dem Ensemble musikFabrik zu Gast. Neben seiner Tätigkeit bei hand werk ist er Mitglied im Hannoveraner Das Neue Ensemble.
Als Lehrender gibt Daniel Agi sein Wissen in Workshops an der Harvard University, dem Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music, Singapur und der Musikhochschule Dresden weiter.
www.daniel-agi.de

JensRulandJens Ruland
Schlagzeug
studierte von 2007 bis 2012 bei Carlos Tarcha an der HfMT Köln Schlagzeug und schloss mit Auszeichnung ab. Seit 2012 vertieft er seine Studien in Basel bei Christian Dierstein. Er wirkte für Ensembles wie u.a. Klangforum Wien, musikFabrik, Ensemble Recherche oder ensemble proton und pflegt ein breitgefächertes Solorepertoire. Er ist Gründungsmitglied bei hand werk (Köln), 232 percussion (Köln), Ensemble New4Art (Schweiz) und dem Musiktheaterduo Akt-tkA (Spanien/Schweiz). Jens Ruland lebt und arbeitet in Twann CH.

hand werk [`hand vɛrk]

Das 2011 in Köln gegründete Kammerensemble überträgt Recycling und Nachhaltigkeit auf die Musikwelt. Aus dem großen Papierberg der Kompositionen werden die Wertstoffe wiederverwertet und veredelt. Um mit der Pierrot-Besetzung nicht nur die klassisch komponierten Werke zu ermöglichen, erweitert hand werk sein Repertoire um Stücke für außergewöhnliche Instrumente, wie etwa Alltagsgegenstände, Selbstgebautes und elektronische Instrumente. hand werk widmet sich der undirigierten Kammermusik, in der die Musiker gleichberechtigt für ein Gesamtkonzept von Musikalität und Performance eintreten. Bisher ist hand werk mehrmals bei namhaften Festivals wie den Wittener Tagen für Neue Kammermusik, Acht Brücken Köln, den Darmstädter Ferienkursen für Neue Musik und der Zagreb Biennale aufgetreten und hat an der Harvard University USA, bei einer Libanon-Tournee sowie bei diversen Konzertreihen zahlreicher europäischer Städte gespielt. Darüber hinaus ist das Ensemble regelmäßig mit eigenen, oft interdisziplinären Produktionen präsent.

hand werk wird gefördert durch

res_kultur_rgb