Members

Daniel Agi's fascination with the sheer inexhaustible wealth of forms of playing and aesthetics, as well as ever new challenges, are the reasons for his passion for contemporary music.
Daniel studied with Hans-Martin Müller and Robert Aitken in Cologne and Freiburg and earned a Master's degree at the International Ensemble Modern Academy.
He can be heard regularly with ensembles such as hand werk, of which he is a founding member, and the Hannover-based Das Neue Ensemble. He is also at home playing classical repertoire as a soloist, chamber and orchestral musician and often appears as a guest with the Duisburg and Düsseldorf Philharmonic Orchestras and the Ensemble musikFabrik.
As a teacher, Daniel Agi has passed on his knowledge in workshops at Harvard University, the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music, Singapore and the Musikhochschule Dresden.

Heni Hyunjung Kim

Clarinet

Heni Hyunjung Kim, born in Seoul South Korea, studied at the Musikhochschule Köln (Wuppertal) (Diploma) and on the Master of New Music and Professional Performance programmes at the Folkwang University of the Arts, Essen. In 2016/17 she was a scholarship holder at the International Ensemble Modern Academy Frankfurt.
Since 2012 she has been intensively involved with contemporary music and has performed nationally and internationally at various festivals and projects, including Manifeste2018 in Paris, Wittener Musiktage, Time of Music Festival in Viitasaari, Gaudeamus Muziekweek in Utrecht, International Summer Courses for New Music in Darmstadt, KunstFestSpiele in Hanover, 'NOW' Festival in Essen, International New Music Festival in Yeongnam and in Naju in South Korea. She has given workshops on contemporary techniques on the clarinet for young composers in South Korea. In 2013 she received the Interpretation Prize at the Stockhausen Courses in Kürten with "Mikrophonie I" as a member of the Folkwang Modern Ensemble.
Her work is characterised by collaborations with composers such as Helmut Lachenmann, Dieter Schnebel, Gerhard Stäbler, Günter Steinke, Johannes Schöllhorn, Heiner Goebbels, Kunsu Shim and Gordon Kampe.
Heni regularly performs in various formations: as a founding member of the contemporary ensemble S201, with the Ensemble Consord, in solo concerts as well as part of interdisciplinary collaborations.

Jae A Shin

Violin

Jae A Shin studied Neue Musik at Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen with Barbara Maurer and Günter Steinke and was a scholarship holder at the International Ensemble Modern Academy in Frankfurt in 2020/21. She has performed at numerous festivals such as the NOW! Festival Essen, the Berliner Festspiele, Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik, Impuls Festival Graz, Wien Modern, Daegu International Contemporary Music Festival in Korea and at the same time as a soloist in Germany, Belgium, Schwitzerland and Korea. She has worked with many composers and artists, premiering many works and playing live music at various exhibitions. She can currently be seen as a guest violinist at Staatstheater Mainz, Schauspielhaus Bochum and Schauspiel Köln.

Niklas Seidl is an artist specialising in cello and composition. He is a member of ensemble mosaik (Berlin), hand werk (Cologne) and leise dröhnung (Frankfurt).
As a guest he performed with Klangforum Wien, Ensemble musikFabrik, the Stuttgarter Vocalsolisten, Ensemble ascolta, SCHOLA Heidelberg, the Regensburger Domspatzen, mam, the HR-Symphonieorchester among others.
His instrumental compositions have been performed at Eclat Festival, Wien Modern, Lucerne Festival, Acht Brücken Köln, at the Darmstädter Ferienkurse, at Schloss Solitude as well as on Deutschlandfunk Köln by ensembles such as ensemble ascolta, musikFabrik, Thürmchen Ensemble, mosaik, hand werk, Exaudi London, La Musica Schiffosa, Schlagquartett Köln, IEMA Frankfurt, Ning Ensemble, Ensemble Garage, Jetpack Bellerive, Ensemble Apparat and mam. His work has been on the radio in the form of portrait programmes (BR; HR, DLF, Dradio Kultur).
He was also an ultimate frisbee player in the Faroe Islands national team from 1998-2012.
Together with the artist Paulette Penje, he created various film works in the duo KOMBÜSE and in the entertainment series with Paul Hübner.
He lives in Cologne and Berlin and photographs things.

Thibaut Surugue completed his piano studies in Paris in the studio of Hortense Cartier-Bresson, in Brussels with Jan Michiels (concert exam with "great distinction") and completed his master's degree in contemporary piano music with Pierre-Laurent Aimard at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Cologne. He also was a scholarship holder of the International Ensemble Modern Academy in Frankfurt. He holds several degrees and diplomas, including those in musicology (University of Paris La Sorbonne) and music theory. In 2021 he received the North Rhine-Westphalia State Prize and is a winner of numerous international piano competitions. He worked with ensembles such as Musikfabrik, Ensemble Modern, 2e2m. As a soloist or with an ensemble, he has played for WDR and Deutschlandfunk productions. His studio recordings also include a CD with works for four hands by Mozart, Brahms and Fauré as well as a CD with solo piano works by Debussy, Bartók and Haydn.

Moritz Koch

Percussion

Moritz Koch (1997) completed his concert exam at the HfMT Cologne in the summer of 2023. At the same time, he supports art-social projects in Hamburg as a scholarship holder from the Tonali Stage Academy. In the 2020/21 season he was a scholarship holder of the Ensemble Modern Academy.
In addition to his work with hand werk, he regularly works with internationally known ensembles such as MusikFabrik, Ensemble Modern, Tempus Konnex and many others.
His concert activities range from jazz drummer/percussionist to opera productions with, among others, the Deutsche Oper am Rhein, the Wiesbaden State Theater and the Bremen Philharmonic Orchestra. For several years he has focused on contemporary music and ensemble playing as well as working with contemporary composers. Concert tours in this area have taken him to Argentina, Thailand, China, Brazil, Israel, Poland, Denmark, Greece, the Netherlands, Austria and Germany, among others. He also produced CD recordings for NEOS and Kreuzberg Records.
From 2015-2019 he studied with Olaf Tzschoppe at the HfK Bremen. In 2021 he completed his master's degree with Rainer Römer with top grades.

Hanna Fink

administration

Hanna Fink (*1991) studied art history and musicology at the University of Cologne (BA) and master of music in integrative music theory (MM) at the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen. In addition to writing articles and journalistic outpourings as a member of the editorial team of the MusikTexte and Notes NRW, she plays the piano and organ and is a trained and active C church musician. She teaches music theory and musicology at the Folkwang University of the Arts and is involved in various projects in the field of composition education and music education, including for the Philharmonie Essen. She has been organizing and hosting local and national concert and workshop formats of contemporary music for several years. With a short break, she has been working for hand werk since 2018. She is currently also chairwoman of the Society for New Music Ruhr e.V., based in Essen, as well as the cultural advisory board of the city of Essen.

Scroll to Top

Mitglieder

Die Faszination für die schier unerschöpfliche Fülle an Spielformen und Ästhetiken sowie die immer neuen Herausforderungen begründen seine Leidenschaft für Neue Musik.
Sein Studium absolvierte Daniel Agi bei Hans-Martin Müller und Robert Aitken in Köln und Freiburg und erwarb an der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie einen Master.
Er ist als Solist, Kammer- und Orchestermusiker auch im klassischen Repertoire zuhause und bei den Duisburger und Düsseldorfer Philharmonikern und dem Ensemble musikFabrik zu Gast. Neben seiner Tätigkeit bei hand werk ist er Mitglied im Hannoveraner Das Neue Ensemble.
Als Lehrender gibt Daniel Agi sein Wissen in Workshops an der Harvard University, dem Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music, Singapur und der Musikhochschule Dresden weiter.

Heni Hyunjung Kim

Klarinette

Heni Hyunjung Kim, geboren in Seoul Süd-Korea, studierte an der Musikhochschule Köln (Wuppertal) (Diplom) sowie im Master Neue Musik und Professional Performance an der Folkwang Universität der Künste, Essen. 2016/17 war sie Stipendiatin der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie Frankfurt.
Seit 2012 beschäftigt sie sich intensiv mit zeitgenössischer Musik und spielte national und international auf verschiedenen Festivals und Projekten, darunter Manifeste2018 in Paris, Wittener Musiktage, Time of Music Festival in Viitasaari, Gaudeamus Muziekweek in Utrecht, Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik in Darmstadt, KunstFestSpiele in Hannover, ’NOW’-Festival in Essen, International Neue Musik Festival in Yeongnam und in Naju in Süd-Korea. Sie gab Workshops über neue Techniken der Klarinette für Junge Komponisten in Süd-Korea. 2013 erhielt sie den Interpretationspreis bei den Stockhausen-Kursen in Kürten mit „Mikrophonie I“ als Mitglied des Folkwang Modern Ensembles.
Ihre Arbeit ist geprägt durch Zusammenarbeit mit Komponisten, wie Helmut Lachenmann, Dieter Schnebel, Gerhard Stäbler, Günter Steinke, Johannes Schöllhorn, Heiner Goebbels, Kunsu Shim, Gordon Kampe.
Heni konzertiert regelmäßig in verschiedenen Formationen: als Gründungsmitglied des zeitgenössischen Ensembles S201, mit dem Ensemble Consord, in Solokonzerten sowie in interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit.

Jae A Shin

Violine

Jae A Shin studierte im Hauptfach Neue Musik an der Folkwang UdK Essen bei Barbara Maurer und Günter Steinke und war an der Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie in Frankfurt 2020/21. Sie trat bei zahlreichen Festivals auf, so wie dem NOW! Festival Essen, den Berliner Festspielen, Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik, Impuls Festival Graz, Wien Modern, Daegu International Contemporary Music Festival in Korea und gleichzeitig als Solistin in Deutschland, Belgien, Schweiz und Korea. Im Bereich der Neuen Musik hat sie mit vielen Komponist*innen und Künstler*innen zusammengearbeitet und dabei viele Werke uraufgeführt und bei verschiedenen Ausstellungen live musiziert. Aktuell ist sie als Gastviolinistin am Staatstheater Mainz, Schauspielhaus Bochum und Schauspiel Köln zu sehen.

Niklas Seidl ist ein Künstler mit den Schwerpunkten Cello und Komposition. Er spielt im ensemble mosaik (Berlin), bei hand werk (Köln) und dem Duo leise dröhnung (Frankfurt).
Gastauftritte brachten ihn zum Klangforum Wien, Ensemble musikFabrik, den Stuttgarter Vocalsolisten, Ensemble ascolta, der SCHOLA Heidelberg, den Regensburger Domspatzen, mam, dem HR-Symphonieorchester u.a.
Seine Instrumentalkompositionen wurden u.a. bei Eclat Festival, Wien Modern, Lucerne Festival, Acht Brücken Köln, bei den Darmstädter Ferienkursen, auf Schloss Solitude sowie im Deutschlandfunk Köln von Ensembles wie mosaik, ensemble ascolta, hand werk, musikFabrik, Thürmchen Ensemble, Exaudi London, La Musica Schiffosa, Schlagquartett Köln, IEMA Frankfurt, Ning Ensemble, Ensemble Garage, Jetpack Bellerive, Ensemble Apparat und mam aufgeführt. Seine Arbeiten sind im Radio in Form von Portraitsendungen (BR; HR, DLF, Dradio Kultur) zu hören gewesen.
Von 1998-2012 war er zudem Ultimate-Frisbeespieler in der Nationalmannschaft der Färöer Inseln.
Mit der Künstlerin Paulette Penje enstanden in dem Duo KOMBÜSE sowie in der Entertainment-Reihe mit Paul Hübner diverse Filmarbeiten.
Er lebt in Köln und Berlin und fotografiert vieles.

Thibaut Surugue absolvierte ein Klavierstudium in Paris bei Hortense Cartier-Bresson, in Brüssel bei Jan Michiels (Konzertexamen mit der Auszeichnung »great distinction«) und schloss seinen Master für Neue Klaviermusik bei Pierre-Laurent Aimard an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln ab. Darüber hinaus war er Stipendiat der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie in Frankfurt. Er hält mehrere Abschlüsse und Diplome u.a. in Musikwissenschaft (Universität Paris La Sorbonne) und Musiktheorie. 2021 erhielt er den Förderpreis des Landes NRW und ist Preisträger zahlreicher internationaler Klavierwettbewerbe. Er arbeitete mit Ensembles wie Musikfabrik, Ensemble Modern, 2e2m. Als Solist oder mit Ensemble hat er für Produktionen des WDR und des Deutschlandfunks gespielt. Zu seinen Studioaufnahmen gehören außerdem eine CD mit Werken für vier Hände von Mozart, Brahms und Fauré sowie eine CD mit Soloklavier Werken von Debussy, Bartók, Haydn.

Moritz Koch

Schlagzeug

Moritz Koch (1997) schließt im Sommer 2023 sein Konzertexamen an der HfMT Köln ab. Gleichzeitig betreut er als Stipendiat der Tonali-Bühnenakademie kunstsoziale Projekte in Hamburg. In der Spielzeit 2020/21 war er Stipendiat der Ensemble Modern Akademie.
Neben seiner Tätigkeit beim Ensemble hand werk arbeitet er regelmäßig mit international bekannten Ensembles, wie MusikFabrik, Ensemble Modern, Tempus Konnex und vielen anderen zusammen.
Seine Konzerttätigkeit reicht vom Jazzschlagzeuger/Perkussionisten bis hin zu Opernproduktionen u.a. mit der Deutschen Oper am Rhein, dem Staatstheater Wiesbaden oder mit den Bremer Philharmonikern. Seit einigen Jahren fokussiert er sich auf zeitgenössische Musik und Ensemblespiel sowie auf die Arbeit mit Komponist:innen unserer Zeit. Konzertreisen in diesem Bereich führten ihn bislang u.a. nach Argentinien, Thailand, China, Brasilien, Israel, Polen, Dänemark, Griechenland den Niederlanden sowie durch Österreich und Deutschland. Außerdem produzierte er CD-Aufnahmen für NEOS und Kreuzberg Records.
Von 2015-2019 studierte er bei Olaf Tzschoppe an der HfK Bremen. 2021 schloss er sein Master Studium bei Rainer Römer mit Bestnote ab.

Hanna Fink

Organisation

Hanna Fink (*1991) absolvierte ein Studium der Kunstgeschichte und Musikwissenschaft an der Universität zu Köln (BA) sowie ein Aufbaustudium in Integrativer Musiktheorie (MM) an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen. Neben dem Verfassen einzelner Fachbeiträge sowie journalistischer Ergüsse als Mitglied der Redaktion der Musiktexte spielt sie Klavier und Orgel und ist ausgebildete und aktive C-Kirchenmusikerin. Sie hat einen Lehrauftrag für Musiktheorie und Musikwissenschaft an der Folkwang Universität der Künste und betätigt sich in verschiedenen Projekten im Bereich der Kompositionspädagogik und Musikvermittlung, u.a. für die Philharmonie Essen. Seit mehreren Jahren organisiert und veranstaltet sie lokale wie auch überregionale Konzert- und Workshopformate zeitgenössischer Musik. Mit einer kurzen Unterbrechung arbeitet sie seit 2018 für hand werk. Aktuell ist sie außerdem Vorsitzende der Gesellschaft für Neue Musik Ruhr e.V. mit Sitz in Essen sowie des Kulturbeirats der Stadt Essen.

Nach oben scrollen